Association of Fundraising Professionals - Rhode Island Chapter
Sunday, June 25, 2017
Advancing philanthropy through education, training and advocacy
AFP-RI’s National Philanthropy Day Awards

AFP-RI's National Philanthropy Day Breakfast & Awards Ceremony will be held at The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Warwick on Friday, November 17, 2017.

We are now accepting nominations for the Outstanding Philanthropic Citizen, Business and Corporation Awards.  Click here to download the nomination packet.  The nomination deadline is Friday, July 28, 2017.

Stay tuned for information about honoring a Partner in Philanthropy. 

To view photos from last year’s National Philanthropy Day Breakfast & Awards Ceremony, please click here.

We look forward to celebrating philanthropy with you on November 17!

We are looking for nominations for the following categories:
     • Outstanding Philanthropic Citizen
     • Outstanding Philanthropic Business (fewer than 250 employees)
     • Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation (250 or more employees)
     • Herbert E. Kaplan Youth in Philanthropy Scholarship
A special thank you to Harpswell House for supporting National Philanthropy Day since 1997
Please direct any questions to Jill at


On Friday, November 20, 2015, AFP-RI presented the following awards at our annual National Philanthropy Day Breakfast & Awards Ceremony.

Congratulations to our recipients!
  • Suzanne Magaziner - Outstanding Philanthropic Citizen
  • Barton Gilman LLP - Outstanding Philanthropic Business
  • ALEX AND ANI - Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation
  • Linnea Bjornson, La Salle Academy - Herbert E. Kaplan Youth in Philanthropy Scholarship 
  • Guy Abelson - Special Tribute
View our YouTube channel to learn more about our award recipients from this year and previous years.

Previous Award & Scholarship Winners 
Outstanding Philanthropic Citizen
2016 Alfred J. Verrecchia
2015 Suzanne Magaziner
2014 James A. Hopkins
2013 Carol A. Peterson
2012 Raymond "Chip" and Brenda Bolster
2011 Louis Marciano
2010 Joan Abrams
2009 Constance Worthington
2008 Marjorie Brightman Catanzaro
2007 Arthur Robbins
2006 Gary St. Peter
2005 Barbara Stillman
2004 Maxwell Mays*
2003 Simone P. Joyaux, ACFRE
2002 Mr. Herman Rose
2001 Mr. Herbert E. Kaplan*
2000 Mr. & Mrs. Henry D. Sharpe, Jr.
1999 Mr. Guy Abelson
1998 Mr.* & Mrs.* John Hazen White, Sr.
1997 The Russell A. Boss Family
1996 Mr.* & Mrs. Malcolm G. Chac
1995 Alan Shawn Feinstein
Carol McGovern, RSM awarded posthumously
1994 Alperin / Hirsch Family
1993 No award made
1992 Norman and Rosalie Fain
1991 Mary Ann Lippitt*
1990 G. Dickson Kenney
1989 The Goddard Family, George Miller
1988 Charles E. Gleadow, Jr.* and John W. Wall*
1987 William Heisler, III
1986 Bayard Ewing*
1985 Thomas P. I. Goddard
1984 Roger P. Braman*
1983 Allen H. Howland*
1982 Joseph W. Ress*
2016 Delta Dental of Rhode Island
2015 Barton Gilman LLP
2014 Coastway Community Bank
2013 Seven Stars Bakery
2012 Performance Physical Therapy
2011 Centreville Bank
2010 Koch Eye Associates
2009 Cat Country 98.1 WCTK-FM
2008 Lefkowitz, Garfinkel, Champi & DeRienzo PC
2007 Pinnelli-Marra Group
2006 RI Monthly Communications
2005 Duffy & Shanley
2004 WPMZ Poder 1110AM
2003 No award made
2002 Pawtucket Red Sox
2001 East Side Marketplace
2016 Ocean State Job Lot
2014 Taco, Inc.
2013 Gregg’s Restaurants & Pubs
2012 Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island
2011 Stop & Shop
2010 Amica Insurance
2009 Swarovski North America Limited
2008 Bank of America
2007 Edwards Angell Palmer & Dodge LLP
2006 Collette Vacations
2005 Whole Foods Market
2004 BankRI
2003 The Washington Trust Company 2002 WJAR/ NBC10
2001 CVS/ pharmacy
2000 Verizon
1999 BankBoston
1998 Textron Inc.
1997 Fleet
1996 Citizens Bank
1995 The Providence Journal Company
1994 Hasbro, Inc.
2014 Mercymount Country Day School
2013 No award made
2012 No award made
2011 Providence Rescue Mission
2010 Rotary Club of Wakefield
2009 Institute for the Study & Practice of Nonviolence
2008 Urban Collaborative Accelerated Program
2007 City Arts
2006 Rotary Club of Providence
2005 RI Free Clinic
2004 Rhode Island Children's Crusade
2003 The Episcopal Charities Fund of Rhode Island
2002 Providence Public Library
2001 St. Mary’s Home for Children
2000 Meeting Street Center
1999 The Salvation Army
1998 St. Joseph Center for Health & Human Services
1997 The Rhode Island Community Food Bank
1996 F. A. C. T. S. (Family AIDS Center for Treatment & Support) Sunrise House
1995 Rhode Island’s six women’s shelters: Blackstone Shelter, Elizabeth Buffum Chace House, Sojourner
House, Women’s Center of Rhode Island, Women’s Resource Center of Newport & Bristol Counties,
Women’s Resource Center of South County
1994 The Champlin Foundations
1993 Dorcas Place
1992 The Rhode Island Foundation
1991 John Hope Settlement House
1990 Travelers Aid Society of Rhode Island 1989 Rhode Island Association for Cardiac Children
(formerly The Goddard Scholarship)
2016 Bridgette Keane, Block Island School
2015 Linnea Bjornson, La Salle Academy
2014 Alexander P. Millen, Narragansett High School
2013 Gianna Jasinski, LaSalle Academy
2012 Lauren Nadeau, St. Mary Academy - Bay View
2011 Sara Rauwolf, The Prout School
2010 Priya Ghosh, South Kingstown High School
2009 Gianna Velino, Cranston High School
2008 Adam Neupauer, East Greenwich High School
2007 Michael Joseph Mangiante, The Prout School
2006 Laura Sidla
2005 No award made
2004 Patricia DaSilva 
2003 Jaclyn Moretti